What's Up, Doc?


TFF 37 Poster Artist Ralph Eggleston

Telluride Film Festival is pleased to announce Pixar Animation Studios’ Ralph Eggleston as the 37th Telluride Film Festival poster artist. Eggleston will lend his talent to create the Festival’s official poster, along with a second special edition poster to be unveiled closer to the Festival.

Eggleston will attend the 37th Telluride Film Festival over Labor Day weekend to present his poster designs to the public and hold a poster signing for festival guests. A special reception will also be held to honor Eggleston, sponsored by the UCLA School of Theatre, Film and Television.

Ralph Eggleston first joined Pixar Animation Studios in 1992 as the Art Director of Toy Story, which earned him the International Animated Film Society’s Annie Award for Best Art Direction. Following Toy Story , he helped develop the treatment and screenplay for Monsters, Inc. Eggleston also wrote, designed and directed the Oscar and Annie winning short film For the Birds , and served as Production Designer on the Academy Award winning feature film Finding Nemo, which also garnered him another Annie for Best Art Direction. Eggleston was the Art Director for The Incredibles and Production Designer on another Academy Award® winning feature, WALL•E, where his work was nominated by the Art Directors Guild award for “Best Production Design” in 2008.  His most recent Pixar project was Up , on which he contributed to the color and lighting design.

Eggleston began his career as a freelance animator and designer on various small projects, including commercials, television, movie titles, and various “special projects” for numerous companies.  He has also contributed to the development of several feature films both at Pixar and elsewhere in the industry.

Eggleston joins a prestigious list of artists who have shared their talents with the Telluride Film Festival. Past poster artists include Ed Ruscha, John Mansfield, Julian Schnabel, Dottie Attie, Doug and Mike Starn, David Lance Goines, Chuck Jones, David Salle, Alexis Smith, Jim Dine, Seymour Chast, Frederic Amat, Francesco Clemente, Dave McKean, Gary Larson, Chip Kidd, John Canemaker, Mark Stock, Laurie Anderson and William Wegman.