What's Up, Doc?

Can't Wait to SHOW You Everything…


2014 Guest Directors Guy Maddin and Kim Morgan

We are thrilled to announce Guy Maddin and Kim Morgan as Telluride Film Festival 41 Guest Directors. The husband and wife team is set to select a series of films to present at the Festival. The Guest Director program is sponsored by Audible.com.
Festival organizers annually select one of the world’s great film enthusiasts to join them in the creation of the Festival’s program lineup. The Guest Director serves as a key collaborator in the Festival’s programming decisions, bringing new ideas and overlooked films to Telluride. In keeping with Telluride Film Festival tradition, Maddin and Morgan’s film selections, along with the rest of the Telluride lineup will be kept secret and unveiled on Opening Day, August 29, 2014.
“Guy and Kim have long been a part of Telluride,” said Telluride Film Festival executive director Julie Huntsinger. “There was no question that they were the perfect choice for this year’s Festival. Their energy, knowledge and enthusiasm is a winning combination – our audience will benefit from that when their selections are unveiled at the Festival!”
Guy Maddin is an installation artist, writer and filmmaker, the director of ten feature-length movies, including MY WINNIPEG (2007), THE SADDEST MUSIC IN THE WORLD (2003), and innumerable shorts. He has also mounted around the world over seventy performances of his films featuring live elements – orchestra, sound effects, singing and narration.
Twice he has won America's National Society of Film Critics Award for Best Experimental Film, with ARCHANGEL (1991, TFF 17) and THE HEART OF THE WORLD (2001). He has been bestowed many other awards, including the Telluride Silver Medallion in 1995, San Francisco International Film Festival’s Persistence of Vision Award in 2006, and an Emmy for his ballet film DRACULA - PAGES FROM A VIRGIN'S DIARY (2002). Maddin is a print journalist and author of three books.
Kim Morgan is a film, music and culture writer who has written for Salon, GQ, LA Weekly, Criterion, MSN Movies, Huffington Post, IFC, Entertainment Weekly, The Dissolve, Playboy, The Los Angeles Review of Books and Garage Magazine.
Morgan has presented movies and moderated interviews for the Los Angeles Film Noir Festival and the Palm Springs Noir Festival. She has guest programmed for TCM and recently presented two films for Telluride Film Festival.
Morgan has worked with Maddin on several occasions appearing in his short films, or “Hauntings” with Udo Kier. They collaborated together on the short, BING AND BELA and their upcoming series “Seances” will move to MOMA in 2014.
“We are honored and thrilled to be guest directors at Telluride, by far the most concentrated, smartly curated, and enchanting of all the film festivals,” Guy Maddin and Kim Morgan commented jointly. “More than any other festival, Telluride is driven by the sheer love of cinema -- discovering new talents, honoring titans and unearthing neglected masterworks and geniuses. The opportunity to share our favorite films with Telluride and its always-discerning audience is not only exciting but an absorbing, wonderful challenge. There are so many movies we love, and to program a selection of six...  where to begin? We really wanted to show those masterpieces we felt hadn't been revived enough, if ever, and to see them as they were meant to be seen -- on the big screen. We can’t wait to watch!”

2014 Passes Sold Out

Passes for the 2014 Festival are sold out!